Santiago and Camino wrap-up

Well I’ve been back for two weeks now, so I thought it would be a good time to do my wrap ups of the tour. I’ve been pretty slack though. I only just unpacked and cleaned my bike.

The final day of riding was quite straightforward on paper, so we upped the ante by trying to find a Celtic fort. We found the picnic area, and we found a wall. I guess that was a win? We eventually got into Santiago around early afternoon. It was extremely hot and we ended up having to walk up the final hill.

Selfie of Brianna riding into Santiago with me in the background

Verdant hill where you should see Castro Lupiaro

Can you see it?

Santiago was a bit of a disappointment. You queue for an age to get your final stamp and collect your Compostella and then the rest of the city is basically a giant gift shop. Accommodation is a pain and probably something we should have sorted out earlier. We were sat in a cafe calling hostels when the cafe owner offered us a recommendation of the woman in the fruit shop next door. She was full, but she gave us another recommendation for this very strange pensión. We stayed there for a couple of days while we explored the town, cleaned and packaged up our bikes.

The Cathedral of San TiagoMy original plan for the trip was to acquire an old bike box when I reached Santiago. It turns out that a lot of cyclists arrive in Santiago, apparently via the French way (which even has bike-specific signage) and so there’s no such thing as a free box in Santiago. I bought one for €12.

It turned out that buying a box was a huge mistake when it came to getting my bike onto the train. They insisted the bike could not go in a box and instead had to be wrapped in plastic wrap, costing me €15 and the box. Ironically to end up with something that was larger than it had been in the box and still didn’t fit on the train. I ended up on a 6h train journey with my bike on my lap and the chain rings digging into me.

Plastic wrapped bike in front of the box I couldn't useIn retrospect it would have been better to use one of those €40 services that deliver a bike anywhere in Spain.

Wrapping Up

We rode 578km in 13 days, which is on average 44km per day.

We climbed a cumulative 9375m.

Elevation profileThere’s some pretty steep gradients in there but I haven’t worked out exactly how steep yet. There’s surprisingly few tools that will take in a GPX file from my GPS and point out all the interesting climbs to me. Maybe I should load it into Strava.

In terms of wear and tear on my gear I’m due for a new chain and cassette (but I was nearly due anyway) and new front cones (they’ve got a very deep groove in them). Plus the two tubes and brake pads I used on the road it should come to around $85 in parts. I probably should have ridden through less mud, but a lot of this is just me doing a proper service after coming back and seeing all the wear and tear that’s happened since I last serviced my hubs.

Gouged front conesI’ve been feeling good since I came back. Like I did something personally challenging and overcame it and I’m stronger for it. I got a bit distracted comparing my achievement to other people’s, but a conversation I had made me realise that it’s my personal achievement and that there’s no point comparing it.

It’s freezing cold and quite wet, so I’ve immediately dropped from riding 45km a day to riding 24km every second day or so, but once I have my all-weather darling back on the road it’ll be easier to manage this weather.

2 thoughts on “Santiago and Camino wrap-up

  1. Well done, you two! What an amazing journey – you definitely should feel proud of what you’ve achieved. What was your favourite place on the trip? What was the most difficult part? And the most surprising?

    (And yes, that hill fort looks like most of the hill forts I’ve seen!)

Leave a comment